Pics: Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan, E Sreedharan Vote Early In Today’s Polls

Voting began at 7 am for the final phase of polling in Assam and third phase in West Bengal. Voting also begins for the single-phase polling in Kerala, Puducherry and Tamil Nadu.

In Assam, the final phase sees 40 seats in play, with the ruling BJP targeting a second term. 31 seats are going to the polls in West Bengal in this phase. 

The 140 seats of neighbouring Kerala also vote in a single phase today, with the LDF government led by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan looking to retain power. 

Puducherry is currently under President’s Rule after the dramatic collapse of the V Narayanasamy-led Congress government. The party is contesting 14 of the 30 Assembly seats, with the DMK getting 13 and smaller allies the rest. 

All 234 seats in Tamil Nadu – where the AIADMK and DMK traditionally reign supreme – vote in a single phase today.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply