Tamil Nadu Election Results 2021: Modi, Rajini Wish Stalin for DMK Win, Kamal Haasan Loses in Coimbatore

The DMK, led by MK Stalin, has a clear edge over the ruling AIADMK front. The DMK and its allies, including the Congress, is leading in 155 (win and leads) Assembly constituencies, while the ruling AIADMK is set to emerge victorious in 70 seats and its allies, the PMK and BJP were ahead in five and four constituencies, according to last reports provided by the Election Commission for 234 seats. A number of top political leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi and BSP supremo Mayawati, congratulated Stalin, who is all set to become the next chief minister of the southern state, for the DMK’s victory. Superstar Rajinikanth, who opted out of politics some time ago after falling ill, also wished the DMK chief. “I wish my friend MK Stalin all the best for the forthcoming term as chief minister. May he perform to the fullest satisfaction of all people of Tamil Nadu,” he said.

Outgoing Chief Minister K Palaniswami was comfortably leading in his home segment of Edappadi in Salem district, while his deputy O Panneerselvam is trailing his main rival, DMK’s Thanga Tamilselvan, a former party colleague, by a thin margin.

Earlier, Stalin, who won from Kolathur constituency by winning over 33,000 votes, chided jubilant DMK workers in Chennai as they celebrated at the party headquarters flouting Covid-19 norms. His son and DMK Youth Wing secretary Udhayanidhi, defeated PMK rival AVA Kassali by a margin of 69,355 votes in Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply